Laila Nasheeba


The “Big Head” Syndrome

Posted in islam,Laila Nasheeba by lailanasheeba on January 20, 2008

Innal Hamduliallah…It seems anytime a person tries to do something good, there will appear his enemies from amongst the allies of Shaytaan who will in turn try to tear what the person is doing down…and thus, here we go again!

What is the “Big Head” syndrome?  This is when a person does something and then becomes so proud and arrogant about what he has done that he begins to think that there is none better than he.  He begins to view himself as being above everyone else.  This is a horrible affliction for a person to suffer from because first of all, whatever the good deed was that was done, the reward has been lost because as our Prophet(sa) has said,

“Riya or the showing off of deeds destroys the the deed.”

Also anyone who suffers from this type of pride will be denied entrance into paradise.

So to accuse a person of suffering with this affliction is something serious indeed.  So now lets get to the heart of the matter.  I have received emails from a couple of people asking me why did I make this blog.  They then asked did I make it because I am suffering from the “Big Head symdrome” since my lectures are now on video for the world to see.

At first I became angry from the emails…this is why I waited till now to comment on them.  I wanted to be sure all the anger had dissappeared and I comment rationally and Islamically.  Being so, my response is as follows:

Alhumduliallah I was raised by a God-Fearing gracious woman who instilled self respect, self esteem and self love into me.  She also instilled  Love for Allah and his Prophet and the companions in me as well.  So thus, I do not suffer with symdromes such as “The Big Head”.

You all know of me only here in cyberspace, but in real life there is more about me than meets the key board.  Since my mother instilled the above things into me as a child, I have had success in every endeavor I have attempted in my life.  Video’s in which you can not even see me, do not even count.!  If I wanted to have a big head I would have had one over my accomplishments in the real world..not video’s in which you can not even see me.

 Let me explain why I put those video’s here.  First of all, I am a professional teacher..not some internet wanna be.  In the real world, after teaching a course the teacher hands out a questionaire for the students to complete asking what have you learned, what improvements are needed to make it easier for others and the likes.  So just as we do that, in the real world so that we can improve the course so the students can better understand the material, I decided to do the same here too.  So that is the reason behind posting the video’s here.  To allow you as a student to give me feedback so as I can make the material easier the next time around.  Please note that all the classes I teach are repeated over and over again each year.  As I stated, I am a professional teacher and our website is a REAL online school.  So that is the reason for the video’s!

Subhanallah… Understand that bad thoughts come from Shaytaan.  Its his way of keeping you from learning and also his way of disuniting us.  When you get bad thoughts about a person, especially one who has devoted their time to teaching you your religion..try saying “aoothu billah”  and push those thoughts away.  Then make duaa for that person.  I guarantee if you try doing that you will be a much happier person!

Any questions or comments about this… please do share!

2 Responses to 'The “Big Head” Syndrome'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'The “Big Head” Syndrome'.

  1. gulmakai said,

    laial thanks for youe advices. i really enjoy them. i have a question . i am an active lady at the masjid. sometimes i want to do so much. because i love to teach about Allah. everyone thanks and like me. but the thing is sometimes i don’t want to do more because i don’t want to show off. i don’t show off but sometimes i fell satan is trying to make me show off. so i slow down. then i think he is doing this to me so i don’t teach and help in the masjid. can u give me youe advice.


  2. Subhanallah. Doubt comes from Shaytaan. Whenever a person does a good deed Shaytaan looks in your heart and tries to put doubt there – to make you question if the deed was good enough.. or maybe the intentions were not good. You need to ignore these thoughts and continue on with the good deed.

    I suggest you watch the video lectures on The Traps of Shaytaan here to see how he tries to dupe us this way.

    May Allah bless you for sharing your views!


Leave a Reply

